Skip to Content


Raven Theatre tells stories of today and the past that connect us to our cultural landscape.

Raven’s commitment to modern drama in all of its forms, as well as its first-class education programming, have helped it remain a cultural cornerstone on the north side of Chicago for 38 years and counting.


Raven is proud to be a cultural cornerstone of Chicago’s north side, where its artistic excellence is known among theatergoers and artists alike. Long acclaimed for its revivals of classic plays, Raven also gives voice to emerging playwrights whose work will help to shape the theatrical cannon for years to come.

The theater engages the next generation of artists and community leaders through its robust education program, “Take Flight.” Each year, teaching artists help 3,000 students unlock their creative potential through summer camps, field trip programs, and in-school workshops.

Raven works with local elected officials, businesses, and community development organizations to continually offer programs that meet the needs of its neighbors, allowing the theater to remain a destination for theatre and arts education and an artistic home for all who need one.

Land Acknowledgement

Raven Theatre Company resides on the ancestral homelands of an alliance of three Native American nations: Ojibwe, Odawa, and Potawatomi, known collectively as the Council of Three Fires.

Dozens of other tribes, including the Menominee, Miami, and Ho-Chunk nations, called this region home.

Today, thousands of native people continue to live and work in the city colonially known as Chicago.



Artistic Director

Cody Estle became the Artistic Director at Raven Theatre in November 2017 where he had previously served as the Associate Artistic Director. His directing credits include Sundown, Yellow MoonHow I Learned To Drive (named by Windy City Times as the best of Chicago theatre in 2019), The Gentleman Caller (2019 Jeff Award winning new play by Philip Dawkins), The Assembled PartiesA Loss of Roses (named by Chicago Tribune honorable mention as one of the year’s best in 2016), Dividing the EstateVieux Carré (named by Chicago Tribune as one of the year’s best in 2014), Good Boys and TrueBrighton Beach MemoirsBoy Gets Girl and Dating Walter Dante at Raven Theatre; Damascus at Strawdog Theatre; Five Mile Lake at Shattered Globe Theatre; By the Water (named by Chicago Sun-Times honorable mention as one of the top theatre productions of 2017) at Northlight Theatre; American Hero at First Floor Theatre; Scarcity at Redtwist Theatre; The Seagull and Watch on the Rhine at The Artistic Home; Don’t Go Gentle at Haven Theatre; Uncle Bob at Mary-Arrchie Theatre and Hospitality Suite at Citadel Theatre. He is a member of SDC, serves on the board of directors of the League of Chicago Theatres, and is an alumnus of Columbia College Chicago.

Managing Director

Markie Gray most recently served as the Associate Director of Marketing & Communications at Yale Repertory Theatre. Previous positions include Company Manager for Yale Repertory Theatre, Management Fellow under Susie Medak at Berkeley Repertory Theatre, Production Manager at American Theater Company, and Artistic Producer at First Floor Theater. Originally from Ann Arbor, MI, she spent six years post college working as a producer, production manager, sound designer, stage manager, educator, and performer in Chicago, IL. She is an artistic associate of First Floor Theater, and a recent graduate of the Theater Management MFA Program at Yale School of Drama, where she was a leader of the Womxn’s Voices in Theater affinity group and a member of the Equity Diversity and Inclusion Working Group. She holds a BA from the University of Chicago.


Lorenzo Blackett, Jr.

Production Manager

Ellen Campbell

Audience Services Manager

Ryan Wiechmann

Marketing Manager

Mechelle Moe

Director of Education

Morgan Wrigley

Facility Manager

Morgan Araujo

Front of House


Raven’s Board of Directors is made up of persons who support theater and who volunteer their time and talent to maintain and strengthen the organization in the fulfillment of its mission.

Stephen Johnson


Richard Rodriguez

Vice President

Nathan Taylor


Holly Crilly

Dan De La Cruz

Cody Estle

Stuart Gold

Markie Gray

Jeremy Heckman

Kathleen McQueeny

Jeanette Samo

Sally Schwartz

Betsy Shepherd

Noah Sobe

Susan Schaalman Youdovin

Carol Zsolnay